Contact : +33(0)473 17 02 17 ou/or videoformes@videoformes.com

Escola de Belas Artes, Minas Gerais, Brazil

EXHIBITIONS, from March 17th to the 1st of April

Galerie Dolet / Crous, 25 rue Etienne Dolet, Clermont-Ferrand

Monday to Friday – 8am to 4pm

Institutional Presentation

At the Fine Arts School we have five different curricula for the bachelor’s degree, regarding graduations in painting, sculpture, engraving, graphic arts and drawing. By the second half of the Visual Arts course, after the basic disciplines, the students start their personal research projects in group meetings called Ateliers. In the Drawing Ateliers, the interest is not focused on drawing techniques, but primarily in the very construction of the image itself. Thus the Drawing Department embraces in our school the production of more conceptual forms of art and media-related forms such as photography and video.

The workshop: Scattered urbanscapes

The videos in this selection were made by five students who are concluding their graduation studies in the Drawing Department of the Federal University of Minas Gerais. This group of young artists has worked together for the last few years presenting different approaches to the urban environment they live in.
Addressing different issues that range from their intimacy to analytic aspects of the ideology of progress, this sequence of videos as they resemble the same means of storytelling can be understood as a complex continuum where fiction and reality are equally potential.
The groundings for the discussions and studies within the group are not so much about technical aspects of video production but mostly related to conceptual and narrative concerns of each project. Hence each production seeks in a broad field of experimentation its proper ways of development, always paying attention to the materiality of the videographic objects and the prevailing lo-fi aesthetics.

 

Carbono 14, 2014, by Randolpho Lamonier, 2’07

As an archeology of affections, Carbono 14 tells the journey of a man searching for his own identity among the rubble of his memory, in a boundary narrative between fiction and documentary.

Sobra, by Sara Não Tem Nome, 1’01

Records of a mutant city in its continuous movements of construction-deconstruction-reconstruction, in the midst of the progress upon asphalt and concrete.

Maré ou jogo-do-homem, 2014, by Jeannie Helleny, 3’42

A hopscotch is drawn on one the most dangerous highways in the country, a circular space, a primitive shelter, apart from the bipolarity of our society.

Torção, 2014, by Victor Galvão, 2’19

In a ruinous landscape is inscribed an unstable cartography along a railway which leads to nowhere, where the space is dissipated in vertiginous movements that conduct an uncanny narrative.

Contact : +33(0)473 17 02 17 ou/or videoformes@videoformes.com

Escola de Belas Artes, Minas Gerais, Brésil

EXPOSITIONS, du 17 mars au 01 avril

Galerie Dolet / Crous, 25 rue Etienne Dolet, Clermont-Ferrand

Du lundi au vendredi de 8h à 16h

Présentation de l’école

L’école des Beaux-arts propose différents cursus de licence – peinture, sculpture, gravure, arts graphiques et dessin. Dans la deuxième partie de leurs études en arts visuels, les étudiants entament, en plus des matières principales, des recherches personnelles en groupe dans des ateliers. Pour l’atelier dessin, l’accent est mis non pas sur la technique du dessin mais sur la construction de l’image. La section dessin englobe donc chez nous la production d’un large éventail de formes artistiques et de techniques comme la photographie et la vidéo.

L’atelier : Paysages urbains éclatés (Scattered urbanscapes)

Les vidéos présentées dans cette sélection ont été réalisées par cinq étudiants de dernière année de la section dessin de l’université fédérale de Minas Gerais. Ces jeunes artistes ont travaillé plusieurs années en groupe sur la présentation de différents regards sur leur environnement urbain.
Soulevant différentes questions allant de la vie privée à l’analyse de l’idéologie du progrès, cette série de vidéos, qui utilisent toutes des procédés narratifs similaires, peut être appréhendée comme un continuum complexe où fiction et réalité ont le même potentiel.
Au sein du groupe de travail, la réflexion n’est pas axée sur les aspects techniques de la production vidéo mais plutôt sur les questions conceptuelles et narratives de chaque projet. Les projets visent donc à se développer individuellement au sein d’un large champ expérimental, tout en s’attachant à la matérialité des objets vidéographiques et à une esthétique principalement lo-fi.

Carbono 14, 2014, de Randolpho Lamonier, 2’07

Archéologue de ses propres émotions, un homme tente de se retrouver dans les vestiges de sa mémoire. Une narration qui oscille entre fiction et documentaire.

Sobra, de Sara Não Tem Nome, 1’01

Regard sur une ville en pleine mutation et ses perpétuels mouvements de construction-déconstruction-reconstruction, au cœur du progrès et de son lot de goudron et de béton.

Maré ou jogo-do-homem, 2014, de Jeannie Helleny, 3’42

Une marelle tracée sur une des routes les plus dangereuses du pays. Un espace circulaire, un abri primitif loin de la folie de notre société.

Torção, 2014, de Victor Galvão, 2’19

Au milieu des ruines, une cartographie éphémère le long d’une voie ferrée qui ne mène nulle part et où l’espace se fond dans un mouvement vertigineux qui nous livre un récit insolite.